I’m determined to get the fourth floor of the Big House under control. Here’s what I’ve done to the largest attic room, which will become a library. (For the middle attic room, see: http://jennsminis.wordpress.com/2013/12/01/big-house-attic/)

Before:
IMG_0695 (1280x925)

The furniture out and some of the trim pulled off.

After:
IMG_0989 (1280x960)

IMG_0988 (1280x911)

The walls re-papered and re-trimmed, new sconces by J. Getzen installed. The table holds a Jim Pounder sculpture lamp. The wallpaper (click the pictures to see close-ups) I’ve had sitting in my scrap cabinet forever, waiting for something to use it on. It’s called Sheraton I believe by Minigraphics, and I’ve always liked its elegance.

IMG_0991 (960x1280)

IMG_0993 (1280x960)

IMG_0997 (960x1280)

A closer look at the lamps. Ain’t they pretty? I’m amazed at how affordable artisan lamps can be. I paid only a few dollars more for these hand-made sconces than I would have for similar-looking mass-produced lights.

IMG_1011 (1280x861)

This is a rough-in of what I want to do to this room. I thought it would be fun to have the bookcases frame the back, and put in a few secret areas that can be seen only if you look in through the front windows. I might change my mind, depending on how much of a pain it is, but I like glimpsing things beyond the room.

IMG_1015 (1169x1280)

This desk is called a bonheur du jour, which basically means a lady’s writing desk, which was introduced in the late 1700s. Apparently, it’s meant to be moved around the room (wherever the lady of the house wants to write her letters), though I have it against the wall here.

IMG_1018 (960x1280)\\

Beautiful Wooten desk I found at an auction. The burlwood veneer is amazing. I’ll do another post soon with some of my cool auction finds.

I have one more attic room to refinish, then I can start putting finishing touches on all the rooms.

