Interior window trim. The kit’s instructions say to do the interior window trim as one of the last steps. If I were to do this again, I’d definitely put in the interior trim before I glued on the outside walls, especially the bays. It was tricky to get my big hands into the small space to put on the window trim.

But all my interior window trimming is done. Yay!

While I used Houseworks windows for the lower floors, I used the kit’s windows for the three attic rooms and the tower.

The punch-out windows were a bit warped and the edges ragged (like everything else), but I figured out a way to make them look smooth and nice.

Instructions say to glue the sill to the window, then glue the exterior window frame to the outside wall, then to glue the hood on top of the exterior frame (then add the sill trim).

Better: 1. Paint the exterior windows and hoods (2 coats). Do the sills and sill trim while you’re at it.

2. Glue the hoods to the window frames first. Put a piece of waxed paper on top of this assembly and weight it. Let the assemblies dry for a couple of hours to overnight.

3. Get some lightweight spackling (I used one called Patch and Paint). Smooth the spackling around the seam between hood and window frame, both inside and out. Smooth it into any gaps or gouges in the window if you want. Using my fingers was easiest. Let dry.

4. Sand the spackled seam (the whole window actually).

5. Paint the window again, painting the spackled and sanded seam. Give the sills and sill trim another coat as well.

6. Finish with varnish or other glossy sealer. Finish the sills and sill trim at the same time.

7. When everything is dry, assemble the window: Glue the sill into the window opening (as per the kit’s instructions), glue the frame with hood to the exterior wall (ends meeting the sill), glue on the sill trim.

8. Glue the plastic window sheet to the interior trim (which you’ve stained or painted). Glue the interior window in place inside the rooms.

Obviously, the spackling method works with paint, not stain! But you could use wood filler that takes stain if you stain.

If I can get a photo of the windows up close without them being blurry, I will (haven’t succeeded yet).

If you wonder why my tower is white, I covered the wood roof panels with thin, good quality cardboard. I couldn’t get the edges to meet nicely (warpage again). I smoothed out the roof with the cardboard and got the seams pretty tight.

I know I’m avoiding the shingling (am playing with the fireplaces right now). I intensely dislike shingling, but I’ll get there.

