It was with trepidation that I untangled all the wires and turned on the lights again. I’ve been moving this house around so much, I feared that the lights would have to all be redone. Not so.  This is the right side of the house, lamps working. The few pieces of furniture stuck in I’ll use for real later.

Living room, looking through to the front hall. Fireplace hearths are done as well. For the fireplaces, I pretty much used the kit as is, though I pasted brick paper inside the fireboxes and on the hearths. Mantels were stained with Minwax stain pen (Early American).

Left side / back first and second floors. I like how the light burnishes the parquet. Changes from kit–First floor: I eliminated the wall between this room and the foyer  (beyond the stairs), turned the staircase around, and left it open. Second floor: Eliminated bathroom wall, added staircase, added French door to balcony.

I’m proud of myself for remembering to wire in the front porch lights before it was too late to hide the wires. This is a step I always forget until the house is done and I notice the porch is dark. This time we have porch lights!

So… the exterior of the kit and interior design is pretty much complete. My next post will discuss my thoughts on what I learned plus tips that might help others who build this house.

