The fun part–stocking the antique shop. (Click on photos for larger versions).

IMG_1566 (960x1280)

I’m still working on the structure, but I wanted to stop and place everything on the inside now that the three main walls and the porch are put together. You can see where I wired in the coach light from outdoors–that will be hidden by a hollow beam.

IMG_6722 (1280x960)

The wraparound porch will house more antiques.

IMG_1567 (960x1280)

It was fun to go through all my boxes of *stuff* and pick out things I’ve always liked but so far have had nowhere to put. I’ve got old, new, and blue–I don’t think I borrowed anything, unless it was from houses I remodeled.

IMG_1568 (960x1280)

I bought the plates on the Welsh dresser from Ginger Landen-Seagal (I’m sure I butchered that spelling) at the NAME show in Tucson. They are made of paper! Punched out and gloss coated. A great way to fill a cabinet.

IMG_1570 (960x1280)

The owners sell everything in this antique shop, including the Shaker table and bench the owners use as their checkout counter. The table, bench, and ladder came from the auction last fall.

IMG_6698 (960x1280)

The tiny tops in the pink bowl really spin. They were a table gift at NAME.

IMG_6707 (960x1280)

The owners keep track of sales on the very modern laptop, but use an old-fashioned land line phone to take orders from their customers.

IMG_6699 (960x1280)

Another shot of the plates and things on the dresser.

IMG_6700 (960x1280)

Here’s an example of how I mashed up old and new. The lowboy and the mirror above it I put together from House of Miniature kits ages ago. The lowboy still looks great–a lesson on what a good finish can do for furniture. The mirror was sad and falling apart–I took it to pieces, restained it and replaced the old, heavy glass with a lightweight thin mirror. You can see that I repainted the Chrysnbon Victorian chair and gave it a crisp new cushion.

The lamps are old: The rose shaded kerosene lamp still works–I have wired it in. The other two are old lamps from who-knows-where (non-working). The spatterware is from the boxes I bought with The Blue House, but the pink bowls are a recent purchase I made on Etsy from MiniatureMakerSupply. The china cat is a bead I bought from a bead store in Sedona, the minerals on the little stands from the goody bag from NAME.

IMG_6701 (960x1280)

On the other side of the shop is another table full of goodies. The tea set is Rueter, the lamp a dollhouse shop purchase, the table, another House of Miniatures kit I painted. The pitcher and bowl on the floor is one of the very first purchases I made for a dollhouse, way way back when I was about twelve or thirteen.

IMG_6702 (1280x960)

More old and new with cheap mixed with pricey. The stool is a Bespaq harp stool, with a leather book by Marilyn Crockett on top of it. The tavern sign I bought from Laura Craine at NAME. No idea where the little aspic molds came from, or if they’re even meant to be minis.

IMG_6703 (960x1280)

Old office chair (a commercial piece), with various objects I found in my supply boxes–a carpetbag, plastic flip-flops, the hats from the Chrysnbon hall tree kit.

IMG_6705 (960x1280)

On the dresser is leftover, mismatched silverware tossed onto the decorative plates.

IMG_6706 (960x1280)

The round pillows on the old Victorian sofa came from a coat my mother had when I was a wee, small child (she called it her “car coat.”)

IMG_6720 (960x1280)

On the lower shelf of the dresser are more plates, a basket full of the blue spatterware, and a fish poaching dish.

IMG_6721 (1280x960)

Upstairs!

I crammed the tiny attic by leaving the bedstead bare and putting things in the space inside it.

IMG_6718 (960x1280)

Within the bedstead (another House of Miniatures kit) is a House of Miniatures three-drawer dresser, ladderback chairs I bought in Hong Kong, a plant table I’d had in The Big House bathroom, topped with a hatbox, which came free in the goody bag at NAME.

IMG_6710 (960x1280)

On top of the dresser is another old oil lamp (non-working), again one of my earliest dollhouse purchases, along with two kits I put together specifically for this shop project.

IMG_6711 (960x1280)

This neat little toiletries box was a mega-round-table kit by Lisa Engler at NAME. (I bought another from her, called Napoleonic influence, which you can see in my post here: https://jennsminis.wordpress.com/2013/08/06/what-i-made-at-name/

IMG_6712 (960x1280)

This is a spool box kit I got from Debbie of Dragonfly International at a mini shows. Fun and easy–I put it together while watching TV one evening.

IMG_6719 (960x1280)

More old + new. The jewelry box is a Rueter Porcelain piece I got from Hobby Builder Supply only a few weeks ago (hey, I had bonus dollars to spend). It’s on top of a “painted” trunk from the Realife miniatures colonial bedroom kit. I didn’t put the trunk together–the ladies I bought the Blue House from did.

The Clare-Bell Brass Works wine decanter and goblets set I bought in the 80s. To say it was tarnished is an understatement, but doesn’t it look pretty now? The secret? Lemon juice and salt! Who knew?

IMG_6708 (1280x960)

A very familiar paperback novel sits on the trunk as well.

IMG_6709 (1280x960)

Ah, The Care and Feeding of Pirates! That has to be my all-time favorite cover from that publisher. Though when I wrote the book, it wasn’t that small!

I didn’t create this mini book, however. It was TreeFeathers, selling it on Etsy. She’d made a set of pirate romance novels, and mine happened to be one of them! I was alerted to this fact by a blogger/reviewer of romance novels–I thought it was so cool I bought the set!

IMG_6722 (1280x960)

The porch. Plenty will fit on the side porch, which I haven’t finished yet.

IMG_6697 (1091x1280)

An overview of the downstairs room.

I fixed up most of the lighting yesterday (and it all works, whew), though I need a few more supplies before I’m done with that. I’m using round wiring and hiding it under the porch roof. I’ll show how I do that in a later post. (Need to take pics).

Almost done with this house! The structure itself is not very complicated–recommend for a beginner. Though the house kit is off the market now, Houseworks has similar ones.

