I have been doing so much since I last posted! Still chugging away on the cottage, plus I got the hankering to do some 1/4″ projects. More on those in next posts.

Electricity:

IMG_1666 (1280x960)

Tape wire systems confound me. I’ve tried to use them, but for some reason, I can’t quite get the hang of it. Part of the problem is, I like to decorate (e.g., wallpaper and paint) before I put the house together, to keep it from being a big mess and a pain. Tape wire requires you put the house together before you run the tape, and then put wallpaper etc on top of it.

I prefer a round wiring system with the plugs, extension cords, and power strip with switch and fuse from Houseworks. I do have to plan somewhat what lights I’m going to use and where beforehand, but I can add lamps by the simple procedure of drilling another hole in the wall.

IMG_1667 (1280x960)

I don’t much like soldering or using heat shrink tubes either, but I’ve found a way to put things together using mini extension cords available from HBS (one-plug and three-plug). The hardest part (besides sticking tiny pins into the plugs when I need to run a wire through a hole) is hiding the wiring.

A nice feature of this little house is the porch roof. A flat porch ceiling will be covered by a sloped porch roof. In between, I’m sticking the wiring. I’ll find a way to make the porch roof removable, so I can fix problems or add / subtract lights.

IMG_1668 (960x1280)

I’m using both indirect and direct lighting here. This is a Nova Lyte (warm white), which will light up the room. I will also use regular dollhouse lamps, but I’m finding that those, especially in older lamps, the light is weak. I’ve started to like indirect lighting enhanced by the warm glow of lamps.

IMG_1669 (960x1280)

I have the pitcher-in-bowl lamp plugged in and ready to go.

IMG_1670 (1280x960)

Some of the downstairs lamps will come out through the porch–wires will go under the foundation and up to the power strip on the other side (more pics when I have everything attached).

For “how” I’m doing it–very simply. I figure out where I’ll want the lamp inside (after I’ve finished painting or papering the walls). Lamps on tables or on the floor have to be placed in after the house or roombox goes together. Sconces can be attached after the wall is finished but before the wall is attached to the house (easier that way, in fact). Chandeliers are placed first, so that wiring can go up through the floor above–flooring can hide the wiring if necessary.

I run the wire as inconspicuously as possible to a hole I drill in the wall (using a 1/16 bit in my Dremel). Holes are drilled where they will be as hidden as I can make them. Wire goes through hole. On other side of the hole, I attach a two-pronged plug plug

This wire is usually too short to reach the power strip on its own, so I use either a single-plug extension cord

singleplugcord or a 3-plug cord if I have lights nearby (also cuts down on number of cords / plugs going out to the strip).

3plugcord

All the plugs then go to a power strip, which I usually locate at the base of the house. The strip easily hooks to a dollhouse transformer. It has a switch so that I can switch the lights on and off without having to plug and unplug the transformer. Also a fuse, so if I do anything stupid, it will pop and cut the lights.

powerstrip

I locate the power strip in back and cover it with something–I usually build a little cover out of wood strips, that looks like part of the foundation or a big garden bench or something.

IMG_6697 (1091x1280)

The lower room has plenty of lights–on the back tables plus a large sconce on the left wall that can’t be seen in this pic, but I’ll show it when I post final, final pics.

More as I do it!

