Microscale (1/144 scale) is becoming more popular these days, I’ve been noticing. It’s 1/12 of 1/12, or dollhouse sized for your dollhouse.

I’ve been intimidated by this scale (cause it’s so small!!!!) but I have collected a few microscale houses and am feeling my way.

IMG_3902

This is a kit by Robin Betterley. It’s tiny! It fits in a 3″ x 3″ x 3″ cube (the base in the kit is a little bigger than that–probably 3.5 inches. I trimmed it to fit the cube).

I’ll do a post on construction tips for this kit sometime. I found it relatively easy, though handling these little bits gets tricky!

IMG_3875

The kit is called Blue Sky Cafe. There’s a second kit for the interior furnishings. I haven’t attempted it yet.

IMG_1351

This is a 1/144 house I found at an auction, made by Charlotte Scott. It’s 5.5″ wide, 6.5″ tall (including the legs), and 1.5 inches deep. The inside has been finished (painted) but not furnished. I might use it as a cabinet in a 1/12 scale house, maybe with books or wine bottles inside. Or maybe I will furnish it.

IMG_3757

I do plan to furnish this Bespaq baby house that I bought slightly damaged and unfinished. The cabinet itself is 1/12 scale. The interior is a 1/144 scale house.

IMG_3786

I’ve stained the outside and finished it with paste wax. I will attempt to wallpaper and furnish it! Six rooms, and three halls, all teeny tiny. 🙂 (The house behind it is a 1/4 scale French Quarter house.)

IMG_3904

Another shot of the Blue Sky Cafe house. Everything is included in the kit: structure; art for outside, inside, and roof; doors and windows; base, fence, and landscaping materials. Even the doorknobs.

 

IMG_3900

A shot of the interior. Not the best photo, but you get the idea.

Now to furnish it with tiny stuff.

The advantages of microscale–An entire six to ten room dollhouse takes up less than six cubic inches of space. It can be displayed on an end table or table inside the front door, used as a decorative accent on a bookshelf, set on a small shelf in the bathroom.

I’m enjoying it so far. Tweezers, though, are a must.

 

 

