My love affair with this tiny scale continues. Here are some projects I have done / have been doing.

I’ll start with the “Secret” books by Robin Betterley. (I’ve been doing a lot of her kits lately because she has some very nice microscale kits).

IMG_4051

These “books” which can be used in a 1-inch scale setting, fit nicely into the microscale house by Charlotte Scott. I plan to use this as a bookshelf in a 1-inch scale house.

IMG_4052

Outside, they look like well-worn books.

IMG_4053

Inside is a secret space with a microscale scene.

IMG_3938

 

These secret books (called Teeny-Weeny Secret books) are fun to make, take an afternoon (most of the time is letting glue and paint dry), and are inexpensive ($5-$14). A great way to learn microscale. Find them at:

http://www.robinbetterley.com/collections/teeny-weeny-secret-books

Next, I finished off the little cafe, also 1/144th scale:

IMG_3970

 

IMG_3964

The bedroom furniture (very, very small…)

IMG_3953

The cafe counter and hutch plus the many teeny cakes.

IMG_3966

Putting it altogether.

The Blue Sky Cafe (http://www.robinbetterley.com/collections/watercolors) is another great introductory kit to microscale. It’s a little more expensive, but you get *everything*–for the cafe: parts for the structure, flooring, wallpaper, fence, landscaping, chimney–you only need paint and glue (and a little time).

The furnishings were probably the hardest–the building itself was fairly easy and painless to make. While the kit for both the cafe and interior says they’re for experienced miniaturists (and I guess I am one), I thought the cafe itself was not too hard. It’s only two rooms without a lot of strange angles or tough-to-fit pieces.

The furnishings I thought were more difficult, only because they are so small. Painting the pieces for the folding chairs and gluing them together was a trick! But not too bad. The interior kit also has everything you see–the furniture plus artwork for it, the bedding, throw for the chair, and all the little cakes cupcakes and accessories for both bedroom and dining area.

However, if you’re going to foray into microscale with the Betterleys’ kits, I recommend doing the cafe or the secret books before you try the “secret” house I just finished (below).

IMG_4041

I enjoyed the heck out of building this kit (Ravenwood: microscale on top, the base is 1″ scale), but I was glad I built the cafe first. This one has many more rooms and more details, more things to mess up! I’ll show more of this house in my next post. (The kit: http://www.robinbetterley.com/collections/secret-houses)

I swear I do not work for them. 🙂 I’m just a happy customer. I will post about other microscale offerings out there and show other houses I’ve collected or made.

For my next project, I’m going to finish and furnish a Bespaq baby house that I picked up on a discount, doing everything my own self. I’ll let you know how it goes …

IMG_4061

 

 

