I’ve made a start on the staircase. There are not nearly enough photos in the instructions for my liking, and the instructions themselves can be a tad confusing, so I’ve taken a ton of photos and hopefully will help others building this house.

IMG_6656

Here’s a photo of sheet 12 (in my kit). I took it and of sheet 10, below, because I found it hard to locate the small pieces in the middle of these giant pieces of wood! Above is  the two landing pieces and the first riser (as well as treads and risers next to it). Below are G and H (staircase backs).

IMG_6655 IMG_6657

I hit a snag when looking for pieces A and B. They are on sheet 5, on a piece that was leftover from one of the main front walls (it’s what’s leftover after you punch out one of the big bay window openings). That’s fine, and normally I would have kept it safely and clearly labeled, but then I moved. And couldn’t find this piece anywhere!

I hunted high and low and finally found it–very last piece at the bottom of the box. Of course!

Below are the pieces laid out, more or less in order.

IMG_6658

From left to right: A, B&C (two identical pieces), D, F, E (to the right of F); below those G and H. The two square pieces are the landings, and then I have piles of treads and risers.  I wrote all the letters on the pieces to keep them organized.

IMG_6673

The treads (on the right) are wider than the risers.

IMG_6672

It’s a good idea to clearly label the first riser, as it’s different from the others, but similar enough to get lost.

IMG_6661

Start with pieces A, B, and C

 

IMG_6662

They fit like this, notches and end of A into the slots.

IMG_6663

Another shot of A, B, and C together.

IMG_6665

The instructions say to put piece F next. It was confusing to me how it went on, but I finally figured out it’s like this. However, it’s hard to glue F in without something for it to rest on, so I set it aside and put together the next pieces first.

IMG_6668

Piece D (my pencil-marked letter D is sideways here) goes onto the end of piece A, forming a wall.

IMG_6678

Piece D being glued to the A,B, C assembly. (The light colored wood is a sanding block I’m using to keep the pieces squared.)

IMG_6669

Piece E leads up from the backs of pieces B and C and glues onto piece D (confused yet?)

IMG_6682

Here is E and D glued onto the A, B, C assembly.

IMG_6683

Now I can add piece F–the end of it can rest on piece E.

IMG_6684

Pieces A, B, C, D, E, and F, all glued together!

IMG_6692

Another view of the basic carcass together.

IMG_6685

Piece H goes on the back of the staircase between pieces D and F. Piece G (not shown) inserts into that open space above H.

IMG_6690

The whole thing with pieces G and H in place.

IMG_6694

The first riser goes on the bottom step. Make sure it’s flush top and bottom. Don’t trust resting it on your work surface to make it flush. There’s a tab on the bottom of piece A, so nothing sits quite straight.

IMG_6697

The treads and risers go on like this. I haven’t glued anything here, because I want to paint the staircase and stain the treads. I’ll put the treads on last.

IMG_6698

Just a note–I had to cut the notch in piece F deeper, because when I started to put on the risers, I noticed that F and D didn’t quite match up. Once I notched it more, the riser (one that goes up the next turn here) went across straight.

IMG_6699

All the risers are on! Time to stop to paint.

IMG_6674

Cuteness break. Ok, onward.

IMG_6703

I have my steps and risers painted white. The unpainted back here will go against a wall and won’t be seen.

IMG_6701

Another shot of the painted steps. Again I’m painting two coats of white, a coat of gloss, coat of white, coat of gloss. This wood is thirsty.

IMG_6705

Next, the trim. These are the two trim pieces to be put on the staircase before it’s inserted into the house. Punch out the rectangles and the rectangle with angle cut out and save them.

IMG_6706

The two trim pieces will fit on like this.

IMG_6707

Pre-gluing the trim to each other at a right angle.

IMG_6709

Trim glued in place.

IMG_6710

The three panels glued back in place.

IMG_6712

I coated the back of the panels thoroughly, using a cut up credit card to spread the glue.

IMG_6718

Here is the staircase all nice and painted.

IMG_6719

With treads and landings added.

The basic staircase is  ready to go inside the house.

IMG_6721

Slots in the floor for the staircase.

 

IMG_6722

Having cut apart the house actually made it easier for me to install the staircase. Maybe if you didn’t glue in the hall / living room partition right away it would help. (??)

IMG_6723

The staircase inside the house as you look from the front (without the front tower wall on)

IMG_6724

Staircase inside looking from the back.

IMG_6725

Trim for piece F.

IMG_6726

This trim piece fits down from the top landing and rests in a notch. My notch wasn’t deep enough, so I had to enlarge the cut.

IMG_6727

I’ve come to the end of the photos my phone has uploaded, so I’ll stop here and finish the rest of the trim in the next post, and talk about what I’ll do after that.

