The next step in the Beacon Hill after the roof is to add the horizontal and vertical trim. First let’s get the rest of the roof on.

img_7290

Shingling the front tower piece on lightweight cardboard before gluing to house.

img_7292

The rest of the shingles set into place on the tower. Done!

Now for the horizontal and vertical trim. I had to pay close attention as there are no good photos or diagrams to follow in the instructions. But I got there.

img_7296

These are the horizontal pieces. From top to bottom we have right wall, right front wall, right front tower wall (the small one), and the tower back and front and tower sides. Note that the tower sides are each longer than the back and front pieces.

Note 2 The kitchen bay trim is also with this, but not in my picture, because I forgot about it. But best to paint those at the same time. There are 3 pieces for the kitchen bay horizontal trim (one long, two short).

I painted everything in my trim color (ivory).

img_7298

The pieces are glued on in this order: 1) right side.

img_7303

2) right front; and 3) right front tower (the small piece)

img_7307

4) Kitchen bay long trim

img_7321

5) Kitchen bay back and front horizontal trim (ignore the vertical for now). The back piece is longer than the front piece.

img_7305

6) The tower sides; then 7) the tower front and back.

img_7306

While that was drying, I decided to complete the roof. I’m using a piece of brown handmade paper here, tacking it in the corners. There is wiring on the roof, so if I need to fix anything, I can lift off the paper. It’s cheap paper so easily replaced.

Vertical Trim

Lots of pieces of these. I highly recommend finding them on the schematic drawings, punching them out, and labeling them with a sharpie on the back (make sure it’s the back! The back will be much rougher wood than the front).

img_7304

This photo is of all the vertical trim (plus the kitchen bay horizontal trim in the back, which I’d forgotten to paint with the others; hence it’s in this photo).

img_7308

I started with the right back trim–it’s a long piece that goes on the right edge of the right wall.

img_7354

Another piece goes on the left side of the right wall. Note: I skipped this for now (this is a later photo), because I needed to finish the copper on the kitchen bay roof–the vertical trim piece is cut at an angle to fit with the kitchen bay roof.

img_7309

The right front right trim has a notch that goes over the porch trim.

img_7310

Then a piece on the left side of the right front wall (with me so far?).

img_7314

Next the tower right trim.

Note–Because I cut the house in half, there is no vertical trim piece for the left side of the tower. If you put together the whole house, like a normal person, there is a short piece that fits on the left side of the tower and up against the mansard roof of the left wing.

img_7312

Vertical trim also goes on the right front wall bottom (on the porch), as does the right tower vertical trim. (Still with me?)

img_7313

When I asked, what about the right side of the porch? That’s covered by the Kitchen Bay Front vertical trim. Here’s the Kitchen Bay Front glued in place (taped until dry). Kitchen Bay Back goes on the same way, just in the back.

img_7321

Another shot of the kitchen bay with all trim in place.

Let me stop and cover the kitchen bay roof with copper. I bought copper sheeting from miniatures.com. Used the kitchen bay roof itself, unfolded, as a template.

img_6980

img_7317

Tip: It’s best to glue the roof on the house first then glue the copper sheet to it.

img_7315

Tip 2: Pre-crease the corners of the copper.

Tip 3: Use kleenex or wear gloves to handle so the oils in your skin don’t stain the copper.

img_7336

The copper roof in place. Now I can glue the vertical trim on the  wall above it.

Next, the corner blocks! The corner trim blocks are all on sheet 23, and for me, that’s the one that shattered.

img_7323

So, here I am back in the box / bags of the remnants of sheet 23. Amazingly, I found all twelve corner blocks.

img_7324

img_7325

Notice that each of these make a pair. Run the grain the same way on each part of the pair.

img_7326

img_7327

Painted my trim color.

The instructions say that these go in the “intersections of the horizontal and vertical trim on each wall.” Um. Ok. I stared t the house a while until I got it (no photos!)

img_7338

You can see the corner blocks at in place where horizontal and vertical trims meet.

I’m a bit puzzled why there are twelve. I understand where ten go: right wall, right front, tower front, left front (when I put the other side together), and left wall (when I put the other side together). That’s five walls, two each, equals ten. But two are left. Hmm. The photo of the house on the box doesn’t show me any other place to put the trim (and that photo only shows a limited view).

img_7336

More of the corner trim in place.

Because my house walls are warped, I have gaps in my trim. I’ll be filling that in later (trimming the trim).

Next time–The mansard roof trim.

 

