To me, one of the most distinctive features of the Beacon Hill is the French door in the middle of the tower. It’s elegant and I think one of the reasons many of us buy it.

It’s also one of the easiest parts to construct! Yay!!

img_7553

The jumble of pieces that will be the French door.

img_7554

The pieces cut out. There will be lots of stacking. On the left are the three sashes from the left and right windows and the door itself. On the right are the trim pieces how they’ll be stacked.

img_7557

The parts painted in my color scheme. The sashes of the left and right windows will be mostly covered with trim. I do paint both sides, though, in case anything shows.

img_7561

The first step is to sandwich the plastic windows between the sashes. There is a front and back sash for each window.

img_7558

The trim will be stacked one on top of the other. The thinner one is on top.

img_7560

The trim glued together.

img_7564

More trim goes on top–this is called the side window trim (or something like that).

img_7563

The first step to putting the window into the house is to glue the right and left window sashes into the opening. It should fit right in the opening, flush with front and interior walls.img_7565

The trim goes over the opening. The half-circle trim also was glued on in this step (you could glue the half-circle piece on before you glue everything to the opening).

img_7566

Because the door is a separate piece, you have some options with it, a feature I like.

img_7567

You could hinge it or glue it so it’s open (and looks hinged).

img_7574

I went ahead and glued it shut, but I used only dots of glue so if I change my mind I can take it out without much problem.

img_7575

There we have it! The house is looking better all the time.

Next, the front door.

 

