I’ve come to the point where I’m putting the finishing touches on the Beacon Hill. First, on my own, I’m adding some horizontal and vertical boards (not part of the kit) to trim the raw edges and gaps between walls. I think it makes everything look more polished.

Back to the kit. The instructions have you start at the top of the house with all the trim and brackets, but I wanted to see the porch finished, so I worked from bottom up.

First, the post brackets, which go at the top of each porch post. They are in three pieces–you sandwich the large piece between two smaller and thinner pieces.

Like so.

I decided to glue, then paint, but you can do it the other way around. There are so many tiny pieces in this step that spray paint might be the best way to go. (I don’t like spray paint because of the fumes but I can imagine it would save time!)

I glued these on upside down the first time, but they go this way, with the curved end up, like a bird with its head up.

Next are the 50 million brackets that go between the porch posts. These again are sandwiched, two smalls around a large.

They need lots of sanding.

 

Two brackets go between each post with three on the right end. There are no measurements for centering them exactly, so eyeball it or measure and calculate.

The porch is finished with the long curved pieces between the posts.

The pieces are found in the middle of sheet 9 (where you punch out the large left side wall), so don’t lose track of it when you are putting the main pieces of the house together.

The pieces are in three sizes: one long one (seen at bottom), which goes on the side of the porch.

The small one (at the top in the photo) goes between the posts in front of the front door.

The medium sized ones go on the center and right front of the porch.

These are a pain to glue in (mine kept falling off) so tape helps until the glue is dry. Give it a day.

There we go–the porch trim done.

Staying on the ground floor, we have the bay roof brackets. They’re on sheet 23, the one that fell apart on me. Amazingly, I have not lost one piece (so far …)

These brackets are single thickness.

They go under the overhang on the kitchen bay (more will go on the bay windows on the other side of the house when I build it). For now, you need 10 for the kitchen bay window.

Eight go across the top of the window. Mine are spaces about 1.25 inches apart.  There’s supposed to be one facing the porch and one facing rear, but I couldn’t get them to fit right, so I eliminated them.

That’s it for the ground floor. Next time, a ton of brackets for the top of the house and tower.

