Beacon Hill: Chimney

I have the walls papered (will be trimmed with molding), and the ceiling started, but I decided to wait on the chandeliers until I have more of the structure built so I don’t damage anything.

Going back to the building instructions, the next step on the outside is the chimney.

Pieces from left to right: chimney sides, chimney top (small piece at top), third floor hearth (small piece at bottom), and the chimney outside trim.

The third-floor hearth gets inserted into the fireplace hole. You have to turn the piece sideways and wriggled it in there. The tab in the back goes through the outside wall.

Sides go on the sides–the side with one tab faces the house, the two tabbed side faces the outside of the house. I constantly got these turned around.

The top fits onto the sides.

The trim goes on like this.

Before gluing, I lined the hearth and chimney with brick paper so it looks more realistic.

The hearth with the chimney sides now glued in place.

Chimney sides and top in place. I left the top unglued (just pushed it into the slots) in case I need to change or fix something later.

I am not putting the chimney trim on yet until I decide what colors to paint the house and trim. Plus I might want to brick the outside of the chimney.

I have to run off to a conference, but when I return, I’m going to the hardware store to get latex paint for the outside so I can get started finishing the outside and settling it on top of the garage. I will probably also put a light on one of the third floor windowsills as I did to the other half of the house before putting on the roof.

It’s coming along!

 

8 thoughts on “Beacon Hill: Chimney

  1. Word Press is acting wacko! My comments just came through from this morning, sorry to bother you! I didn’t think they were being sent, very frustrating! Anyway, love your miniatures and your books 🙂 – Anonymous above is me, very strange.

  2. Thanks for the tips, I will definitely take your advice! You’re an inspiration to miniaturists including me, my addiction for 35+ years 🙂

  3. I imagine there aren’t too many who wouldn’t want to meet Captain Gabriel Lacey, 😀
    Thanks for the tips, very helpful. I will definitely take your advice! You’re an inspiration to many miniaturists, me included. Minis have been my addiction for 35+ years. Thanks again 🙂

  4. Hi Jennifer, I love your miniature work…and your writing!! I don’t know when you have time to sleep!! This question has probably been asked before but are you painting all the walls inside & out before assembling/papering? If so, what paint are you using? I’m going to do the vintage Dura-Craft Newberg house and it has the same slot/tab structure. I’ve built other houses but not with this type of wood assembly. I enjoy your posts and your amazing miniatures! Thanks in advance, Dayna 🙂
    p.s. I’d love to meet Captain Lacey in person….swoon ❤

    • I’d love to meet Gabriel too. LOL
      I found when I did the first part of the house that when I painted before assembling, the wood warped a lot. This time, I’m gluing the bare wood together, then giving inside and out a base coat of latex paint (just plain white). I find it easier to finish the inside first just so I can lay the house down or sideways without ruining anything on the outside. Also if you paper, you might want to make a pattern of the inside walls from typing paper or whatever before the house gets glued together (and then check the pattern once it’s glued in case something shifted). Have fun! 🙂 And thanks about the books! I do miniatures to take breaks from writing, and then I write while the glue dries.

      • LOL yes I’m sure there aren’t many who wouldn’t love to meet Gabriel 🙂
        Thanks much for the tips, I will definitely take your advice! It’s really cool that you take the time to walk us through the progress on your miniature marvels.
        I’m also looking forward to Kat Holloway series, pre-ordered! Loved the Novella…..
        Your characters, hero’s & heroine’s are simply amazing, as is your devotion to the miniature hobby. It’s been my addiction for 35 years+ 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.